Select the Settings tab. This is listed far right on the tabs banner.
Toggle the Auto return to list after check in button to the off position.
Return to the Guest list tab and continue with check-in.
Setting is on by default. When turned off the check-in app will remain on the guest profile after selecting the check-in or check out.